Urban Decay Naked Smoky Tutorial and First Impressions

Urban Decay Iconic Smoky Eye

IMG_9861

My husband surprised me with the new Naked Smoky palette from Urban Decay.

I was really on the fence about this product initially. Smoky eyes are not my forte. I can do a smoky lash line, but a super dark overall eyelid is just not something I gravitate to. I prefer brights if I’m going all out. There is also a certain amount of intimidation that comes with doing a smoky eye. (Side note: UD uses the spelling “smoky” so I’m using it here, but my brain really wants to change it to “smokey”. I looked it up and both are right, but it just feels wrong to me.) There is always the looming danger of the dreaded raccoon eyes, or looking like you got punched in the face. Eek!

The other factor I was wary of is that Urban Decay eyeshadows, while usually very pigmented, tend to have a lot of fall out. Particularly the shimmery/glittery shades. The Naked Smoky Palette has four shimmers, four satins and four Mattes. I was really worried that I was going to get sparkle fall out everywhere but I was surprised how well they applied. I’m not sure if this is a different formulation for Urabn Decay, but if it is I hope they continue using it for future eyeshadows.

On to the tutorial!

Given that I’m smoky eye impaired I decided to try following the instructions that came with the palette to create what was called the, “Urban Decay Iconic Smoky Eye.”

This tutorial shows me following the instructions step by step, as well as give my first impressions about how the palette performed.

Products Used:
Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette
Urban Decay Perversion 24/7 eyeliner pencil
Urban Decay Perversion mascara
Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Exposed
Tarte Showstopper Palette- highlighter
Too Faced Melted Metal liquid lipstick in Dream House

Thanks for watching!
Don’t forget to like and subscribe if you enjoyed the video.

IMG_9735

Kisses from Trixie!

Visit Dustbath Beauty on social media:

Blog: https://dustbathbeauty.wordpress.com
FaceBook: https://goo.gl/PVN5G0
Instagram: https://instagram.com/dustbath_beauty

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Smoky Tutorial and First Impressions

    1. I’m more addicted to Naked Smoky overtime I use it. I did not expect it to be so versatile. I just thought, “Meh, smoky, not my thing.” It’s edging past the original Naked Palette as my favorite Urban Decay palette.
      You’re channel is super cute, I subbed. =-)

Leave a Reply

